top of page

Viewing - Dracula (1931)

Updated: Feb 10, 2023



I've known the story of Dracula for a long time, then again, who hasn't? It's a classic horror story that has practically set the framework for other similar stories of horror, romance and mysteries. But this was my first time watching the original.


It's clear to see how old this film is, yet with its age it still has a charming atmosphere about it, with use of scenery, acting and music. Although a fine film, some aspects have not aged well. An example of this is the bats, I admit, I laughed at these parts, being able to recognise a toy/model of a bat being waved around in front of a screen. Though as I stated, this seems to radiate a charm around the movie.


For me, whilst watching the movie, the one actor that stood out to me was Dwight Frye who played Renfield. His role was incredibly believable and really set the mood for how monstrous, possessive and dangerous Dracula could be - Despite the long awkward silences of him 'hypnotising' others.


During me viewing the film, the artistry of the scenes also stood out to me, long shots and the use of models for certain scenes. I noticed the potential use of models, both in the long-distance shots of the castle as well as well as the ship in the ocean, a clever use of materials and close up shots.


The film I thought had a nostalgic feel to it, sinisterly relaxing as well as intriguing and beautiful in its own way, with its use of sets, scenery and the depth of shots creating an all round wonderful piece of cinema.



8 views0 comments

Kommentare


bottom of page