top of page

Viewing: Alice in Wonderland (1999)

Updated: Feb 10, 2023



After visiting Newstead abbey for our future Alice in Wonderland project, it reminded me a lot of an Alice in Wonderland film that i watched on VHS when I was younger, after seeking it out, I decided to give it yet another watch after many years apart.


The Alice in Wonderland film from 1999 is perhaps a little bit more different to other versions of the story, as this tells Alice 'escaping' to Wonderland in order not to sing in front of a crowd of her parents friends at home. It follows her journey through the strange and magical planes of Wonderland, coming across a very colourful amount of characters.


What really struck me in this film, is that a lot of the things I thought I dreamt up when I was younger, turned out to be real. The exaggeration of the characters features, the morphing of the land, the scale, both big and small and the fact half of it barely made sense as well as the strange combination of animals and humans alongside puppetry.


It was masterfully made and perhaps it doesn't get enough credit for the techniques, costumes and use of imagery that was used. I would quite happily watch this again just to be in awe of these details and the transitioning of scenes.

5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page