top of page

Model Making Introduction

Updated: Feb 17, 2023



In our introduction to Model Making workshop, we did a basic model of two platforms to a 1:2o scale. The first being a square shape 1000 x 1000 on all sides and the second being a Platform measuring 2440 x 1220 x 400H which we may use more often as it is a standard size for certain platforms within stage and screen.


I struggled with the measuring, asking for help allowed me to try and work out the correct measurements once more, however, I didn't take into account the thickness of the card we used when my shape went 3D. On paper, all my sides were the right size, however, once glued together, as seen above, it became apparent that I went wrong somewhere.


Next time I do my modelling, I will take this into account and attempt to measure the thickness alongside the size of my model so it will be the correct scale.


Model Making Essentials:

- A3 Cutting mat

- Swan Morton Scapel (10A blades)

- Metal Ruler

- Scale Ruler

- Sharp / Precision pencils

- Masking tape

- PVA glue (wood glue is ideal)

6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page